Isn’t it Yucky?!

When you drastically change the way you eat…people notice. Not only do they notice, they ask questions. I think my favorite question thus far has to be, “Isn’t it Yucky?!”. To clarify, this person was referring to eating clean, healthy food. Food that isn’t loaded with cheese, salt, preservatives, and crap I can’t pronounce. On the contrary, what I eat is absolutely delicious! What I used to eat is YUCKY! I mean that with the utmost of sincerity too. I no longer crave cheese, sweets, fried foods, or packaged foods. My sense of taste has been drastically enhanced. I can taste a multitude of flavors I never noticed before. If I put too much cheese on something, or if it’s too “heavy”, I don’t care for it any longer. If you know me well, you KNOW my love for cheese!! Saying I no longer crave cheese and eat it minimally now is saying A LOT!! I honestly get a bit grossed out seeing people eat unhealthy or overeat. Those of you who eat clean know exactly what I’m talking about. Have I become a clean eating food snob? Maybe. 


If being a clean eating food snob means: eating foods that are healthy and nourish my body, choosing organic whenever possible, eating fruits/veggies/lean meat/whole grains/healthy fats, choosing foods full of healthy macros and micros, and staying away from junk foods full of preservatives and crap…then yes, I’m a clean eating food snob and proud of it! 


I have also heard comments about how the term “eating clean” is not a good idea, because it leads to the assumption that other foods are “dirty”, and makes people feel bad about eating them. Ok…

Let’s think about that for just a moment and use an example for clarity. Example: spinach is a “clean” food…and a Twinkie is a “dirty” food. In MY opinion…YES! Sorry Twinkie lovers! Twinkies are horrible for you. They have absolutely no nutritional value. They’re full of preservatives, saturated fat, and too many simple carbs. THEY’RE yucky!!! 

This…


Or THIS…


Just sayin’…

The other thing I recently read someone say is that clean eating is just another fad diet. 

I must admit…I am super puzzled by this statement. Eating real food…that we are actually supposed to eat…which makes us healthy…is just another fad diet? Hmmm…

We all have a choice. Eat the Twinkie and feel like you ate a Twinkie, or bust out some beautiful spinach and feel better. Here are a few of the wonderful benefits I’ve experienced through clean eating: weight loss, more energy, better skin, loss of cravings and food addiction, freedom, increased self-esteem, and my A1c (blood sugar) went from diabetic range to completely normal. I feel better, I look better…I’ve improved my quality of life ten-fold, and it’s a lifestyle change I can actually live with and enjoy. Sound like a fad diet?

I’ve rattled on long enough! Now I’m going to leave you with some pictures of all the YUCKY food I’ve been eating. Poor me! LOL

Fiesta Frittata
Ground Turkey Veggie Hash
Yin & Yang Celery Logs
Slow Cooker Honey Quinoa Chicken
Grilled Heavenly Goodness
Veggie Protein Plate w/ Coconut Milk Yogurt
Breakfast Tacos for Lunch
So there you have it! It is possible to eat tasty, easy to make, affordable food, that is actually healthy and nourishing your body. That’s a win-win in my book 👍🏻😉

Hugs & Love,

Tanya ❤

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Yummy looking food, and I agree with you about food tasting not as good. I came to a similar realisation about chocolate.
    https://slimmingbsimcha.wordpress.com/2016/08/11/day-43-chocolate-i-dont-love-you-anymore/
    What’s the slow cooked chicken honey quinoa recipe? Looks delish

    Liked by 1 person

    1. bellefemme9 says:

      Thanks so much! Here is the link to the recipe I used:
      http://www.iheartnaptime.net/slow-cooker-honey-chicken/
      FYI: I used toasted quinoa in place of sesame seeds. Also, this recipe calls for a lot of soy sauce and salt. Very salty dish, and I used light soy sauce and light salt. Let me know what you think!

      Like

  2. annika says:

    Love this post. Do you stay away from all dairy?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. bellefemme9 says:

      Thank you! I used to be a dairy junky, especially cheese, but since clean eating I’ve drastically reduced it. For the past 6 days I’ve been on the cleanse phase of my Advocare 24 Day Challenge, so dairy is to be avoided or limited. How about you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. annika says:

        Like you, we have cut out a lot of junk from our diet in the past decade (no more processed food, no white flour, reduced our use of sugar, etc. ) but dairy isn’t one of them. What are your reasons for avoiding it?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. bellefemme9 says:

        Cheese is a problem for me…a lifetime addiction…so I drastically reduced it from my diet. I changed over to almond and cashew milks due to less calories and found I enjoy them more than dairy. I will never completely go off of all dairy though 👍🏻

        Liked by 1 person

  3. annika says:

    haha… I love cheese as well. But I understand.. it’s a calorie thing. I always try to buy organic when it comes to dairy just to avoid hormones and such but I don’t stress too much about calories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. bellefemme9 says:

      Yeah I’m sure once I hit my goal weight and have maintained for a while I will be able to relax a little.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. annika says:

        Sure… we are all different so we just have to find what works for us. But it seems to me that you are on the right track! And no, you are not a food snob… just a wise eater!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. bellefemme9 says:

        Thank you so much! I really appreciate the support and kind words 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

