The Power of More…

The past few days seem like a blur…a whirlwind of steady activity and trying to stay afloat. Although it’s been busy, I’ve never felt so satisfied. I’m being very serious. I’ve spoken to more people in the past 2 months than I have in the past 2 years. Talking to people about their journeys, their struggles, and hearing the all to common theme…isn’t there more? I know what they mean too. I was in that place…feeling as if I wasn’t enough…feeling as though there had to be more. There IS more. The weird thing is that MORE is right there. It’s in the look you get from a friend who needed you and you were there. It’s in your child’s voice when they say goodnight…I love you…and drift off to sleep. It’s in your significant other’s lingering kiss as they leave to board their flight. My point is that MORE is all around us…we just don’t stop and recognize it. We don’t pause to breathe it all in. We are simply missing out because we are so wrapped up in our own inner turmoil. It doesn’t mean that we are arrogant and only thinking of ourselves, or that we don’t care enough to pay attention to those around us…on the contrary, we are so busy taking care of everyone and everything around us that we’re exhausted! We have all heard the saying time and time again, “You can’t take care of others unless you take care of yourself first”. This could not be any more true. On an airplane they instruct you to put your own oxygen mask on first before helping a child (or anyone else). Why? Very simply…if you pass out from lack of oxygen you will be of no help to anyone, including yourself. Take care of YOUrself!!! Not just for the sake of others…but because you are worth it. You are just as worthy as anyone else to receive love, health, joy, comfort, and support. Believe it.

Image result for take care of you first
Since we are on the topic of MORE…allow me to show you MORE food! Had this for dinner last night, and it was super yummy! Basically taco fixins’ on a baked potato. Keep it clean with grass-fed beef, tomatoes, lettuce, salsa, and avocado. I did indulge in a little bit of cheddar and a smidge of sour cream. Takin’ care of myself  😉

IMG_3043

Today’s lunch was a thrown together kind of deal. Not only was I super busy, but I needed to go to the store LOL. I had to use up the remainder of some things I had. A spicy black bean burger with broccoli sprouts, sliced avocado, and yellow cherry tomatoes – steamed mixed veggies – fresh blackberries with a sprinkle of toasted quinoa. Yum!!!

IMG_3045

So…my body is telling me I need MORE sleep…guess I’d better listen. Plenty of sleep is another one of those things we usually deprive ourselves of. Take care of YOUrselves ❤

Tanya

 

Leave a Reply

