YOU’re Melting…Slow DOWN!!

Ahem…so has anyone ever told you this when you were dieting? I’ve heard it many times…and it always makes me smile. Why? Well, because of course we love it when people notice our weight loss! BUT…if you’re like me…the “proof is in the pudding”, as a dear friend just quoted earlier today. I want to see for myself that the SCALE agrees with what everyone is telling me. I mean, set aside the fact that MANY people have noticed my weight loss, my clothes are falling off (literally), and I can see my feet…I want the stupid beloved (and loathed) scale to officially tell me what I’ve lost. Isn’t that stupid? Have you ever weighed yourself daily to ensure that things are “going the right direction”…gone to the bathroom first…removed ALL of your clothing…jewelry included…BEFORE weighing? Oh…and don’t forget getting on “gently” lest the weight fairy inside the scale detects that you might be a little hefty? Maybe even make sure you’re on evenly…recheck it a second time…and replace the batteries if you don’t see the numbers you wanted? You’re smiling right now, because you’ve done it! Any or all of them! We all have! Bottom line is…the scale is great TOOL to gauge your efforts and ensure you’re moving in the “right direction” towards your goals, but don’t overdo it. Don’t let it hold you hostage and make or break you if it doesn’t tell you what you need to hear. Weigh once a week…same time each day…wearing similar (or no) clothing. Understand that the numbers are going to be affected by water/sodium retention, muscle gain, hormonal shifts (such as during a woman’s menses), and a whole other handful of things. Gaining weight on the scale doesn’t = failure! It could also mean you aren’t eating enough…and that’s a whole other topic we need to discuss soon. Eating too little can make your metabolism slow down…send your body into starvation mode…and bring a quick halt to your weight loss endeavors. 

Now…on to being told to SLOW DOWN…fast vs. slow weight loss…does it matter? The answer is YES it does. 
Slow and steady wins the race. Losing slower, no more than 1-2 pounds per week is not only healthier for you, it’s more likely that you will maintain that weight loss over the course of time. Fad diets and “magic” remedies that have you dropping chunks of weight can be exciting and rewarding (short term and immediate gratification), but your poor body can, and eventually will: turn to eating away at muscle (bad), become deficient in many important vitamins/minerals, lose healthy fat stores key to survival, wreak havoc on your skin/nails/hair/organs etc. I’ll give you a quick example…I went on a liquid (shakes only) diet, medically supervised, for a few months…lost a whopping 60 pounds or so…but guess what else I lost? A bunch of hair, my gallbladder, and my determination. And guess what else happened? You got it! I gained all of that weight back and then some! This was because I didn’t learn a darn thing about eating right and went right back to my old habits. DIETS are not realistically sustainable or healthy…you MUST commit to a lifetime lifestyle change FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE! Does this mean the days of dessert, pizza, and splurges are gone? NO! Allow yourself planned occasional treats…just don’t binge and go overboard! You have to want it. You need to persevere…no matter how tough, and no matter how many times you fall. You have to do the work…research food, health, supplements, meal planning, calories, etc etc etc. BUT…you will NEVER be sorry you did it, your body will thank you, and you will feel better than you ever have. Whole foods, clean eating, lean meats, veggies, fruits, whole grains, nuts and seeds, healthy supplements, NO packaged crap with preservatives and 5 million ingredients you can’t pronounce…that’s how you’re going to do it. Experiment…and laugh at some flops (I’ve had many)…and CELEBRATE successes with great joy! Do you feel better? Does your skin glow more? Are your clothes looser? Do you have energy you didn’t have before? Those are the successes that matter…not the stupid scale! (And yes dear husband, I’m working on this too) 😝

SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE!!! 


P.S. A dear friend suggested that I need to post a before and current picture to share my successful transformation. I am going to do this…as soon as I can find some good pics that will really show you all the difference. I’ll share others as I go along, because I still have a ways to go. But…just for clarity, I’ve lost a total of 50 pounds since December, and have gone down 4 clothing sizes. The proof is in the pudding 😉

Leave a Reply

