OvernightOatsITIS

So clearly I have this disease (see title). One day I decided to try this crazy trend…overnight oats…and I’m kind of hooked [obsessed]. Almost as hooked [obsessed] as I am with avocados. Hey, I said ALMOST. Anyway, if you haven’t tried it, you need to. Don’t worry, we’ll start a group if it gets out of control 😉

This morning I had what I’ll lovingly call “chocolate covered strawberry” overnight oats. Oh. My. Word. Good doesn’t begin to describe it. First the basics to any kind of overnight oats…if not already familiar. I always use 1/2 cup old fashioned oats and 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla cashew milk. You can use whatever milk you want…I choose this one because it tastes awesome and is very low cal. You basically stir these together in a container, seal, place in fridge overnight, and voila! In the morning it’s ready to eat. Cold…yes cold. You can heat it up, but I love it cold…so there. You will want to add whatever ingredients you want to flavor it up. The sky is the limit! For this dish I used 1 Tbsp PB 2 powder, 1 Tbsp rich chocolate Ovaltine, and 1 Tbsp semi-sweet chocolate chips. Then in the morning you can add the strawberry. I’ve tried everything from chocolate, to chocolate peanut butter, to piña colada, to blueberry cream. The only words of caution I have for you are: portion control and use ingredients wisely! Your 1/2 cup of oats will already add a whopping 150 calories. Just be aware of how fast it adds up. You don’t want your “healthy” breakfast to turn into a flame broiled whopper, king size, super size, double this and that, caloric frenzy, whatever-ya-wanna-call-it nightmare…and trust me it can and will! 

I mentioned before the importance of measuring and tracking food. You will have a lot of containers and measuring cups/spoons to constantly rinse and wash. I do. I always have a big bowl of them to wash…along with shaker bottles galore. With 3 big power lifters and myself using shakes, protein powders, supplements, etc…it’s a constant battle! No worries!! Turn on some 80’s or Christian Rock (my choice, maybe not so much yours) and wash away my friend!

By the way…you’re looking radiant today 👍🏻😊

Leave a Reply

